Canterbury College

Learning by Design: Building Canterbury College in the City 1873-1973. An illustrated history based on the Armson Collins Architectural Drawings Collection

Building Blocks

In 1850 Bishop Selwyn had advised the Canterbury Association that “A full grown college cannot be exported at once; … Mark out a good extent of land, and put up a wooden building; people are very tolerant, and will call it ‘The College’; and why should they not, when even an infirmary for sick horses may enjoy that name?”

Thankfully, though Canterbury College started with just one modest laboratory, it did evolve into a full grown college. Block by block, the town site of Canterbury College between Hereford and Worcester Streets was constructed between 1876 and 1966. Without any precise overall plan for the development of the town site, buildings tended to be added as necessity demanded, and funds allowed. The result is that each building has its own unique character and its own story to tell.

 Town Site Timeline

 

 The Old Tin Shed

 

 The Clock Tower

 

 Christchurch Girls' High School

 

 Christchurch Boys' High School

 

 The Great Hall

 

 The Classics Building

 

 Mechanical Engineering Laboratory

 

 Biological Laboratory and Observatory

 

 Electrical Engineering Laboratory

 

 Hydraulics Laboratory

 

 Chemical Laboratory

 

 College Library

 

 Arcades and Men's Common Room

 

 Physics Laboratory

 

 Registry

 

 Student Union