University Council
Te Kaunihera o Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha

The University Council is responsible for the governance of UC and the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor. It sets UC's policies and approves degree, financial and capital matters and monitors their implementation.

Role and responsibilities

The Council is responsible for the following areas:

The Council is chaired by the Chancellor, Hon. Amy Adams.  In the absence of the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor Mr Shayne Te Aika deputises.


The Council is made up of:

  • Four members appointed by the Minister of Education.
  • The Vice-Chancellor.
  • One permanent UC academic staff member elected by the permanent academic staff.
  • One permanent UC general staff member elected by the permanent general staff.
  • The University of Canterbury Student Association (UCSA) President elected by UC students.
  • One member appointed by the Council after consultation with Te Runanga o Ngāi Tahu.
  • Three members appointed by the Council, two of whom must be UC graduates.

See the full list of University Council members.

Meeting minutes and Vice-Chancellor's reports

Council meeting dates as well as meeting agendas, minutes and Vice-Chancellor's reports are available as a public record.

Governance Statement

More information about the governance of UC can be found in the 2022 Annual Report.