Sustained success - long serving staff members recognised

02 December 2021

The University of Canterbury has celebrated its 16 longest-serving staff members, awarded five teaching development scholarships for exciting new projects, recognised an impressive new health and safety initiative and honoured 12 newly appointed professors through the Hui Whakamānawa | Celebrating Excellence awards.

  • Long Service Award 2021

The annual awards celebrate professional and academic staff successes across the University and empower high-achieving staff to accomplish even more.

Making their mark at the University for more than 35 years each, the Long Service Award recipients are the “glue that holds the place together”, says Executive Director of People Culture and Campus Paul O’Flaherty.

“The long-serving professional and technical staff look after the beautiful campus grounds, the financial administration, the library, enrolling students and keep the heating on. Their work ensures that the teaching and researching happen in a well-functioning physical and technical environment.

“Our long-serving professors and associate professors are leaders in their field who have chosen this University as the place where they can accomplish their best work over the course of their career.

“It must be very satisfying for our long serving staff members to know that they have been a part of helping educate and develop several generations of future leaders and citizens of our country and the world. Congratulations and thank you for such a significant contribution to our students and our research, and to the UC Community.”

Long Service Awards:

  • Philip Butler - Professor
  • Darryl Cone – Grounds Supervisor
  • Jack (Brian) Copeland - Distinguished Professor • Humanities and Creative Arts
  • Siale Faitotonu – Technical Officer in Civil and Natural Resources
  • Peter Glassenbury - Senior Programmer Analyst • Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Martin Holland - Professor - Director • National Centre for Research on Europe
  • Dave Kelly - Professor • School of Biological Sciences
  • David Leung - Associate Professor • School of Biological Sciences
  • David Norton - Professor • School of Forestry
  • Jarg Pettinga - Professor • School of Earth and Environment
  • Tracey Robinson - Admissions Team Leader • Student Services
  • Andrea Schoorl - Senior Accommodation Advisor • Accommodation Services
  • Michael Stevenson - Scaffolder/Boilerman • Facilities Management
  • Stephen Todd - Professor • School of Law
  • Robyn Towart - Business Administrator • Financial Services

Teaching Development Scholarships

  • Nick Emerson - Senior Lecturer • School of Product Design
  • Deirdre Hart - Associate Professor • School of Earth and Environment
  • Donald Matheson - Associate Professor • Language, Social and Political Sciences
  • Ciaran Moore - Senior Lecturer • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Christian Walsh - Lecturer • University Centre for Entrepreneurship

Read more here

The Health and Safety Initiative award:

The Menopause Awareness Project team of Julie Stafford, Charmaine Atherfold, Angie Willington, Karen Grant, and Sharon Chapman-Stead.

Read more here

New Professors:

Catherine Bishop - Mechanical Engineering

Ann Brower - School of Earth and Environment

David Conradson - School of Earth and Environment

Deirdre Hart - School of Earth and Environment

Alex James - Mathematics and Statistics

Gregory MacRae - Civil and Natural Resources Engineering

Aaron Marshall - Chemical and Process Engineering

Donald Matheson - School of Language, Social and Political Sciences

Diane Mollenkopf - Management, Marketing, and Entrepreneurship

Dirk Pons - Mechanical Engineering

Chris Pretty - Mechanical Engineering

Te Maire Tau - Pou Whakarae, Director/Associate Teacher, Ngai Tahu Research Centre

Kevin Watson - School of Language, Social and Political Sciences

Read more here:

Media contact:

  • Email: Ph: (03) 369 3631 or 027 503 0168
Professor Philip Butler

Colour x-ray inventor honoured in New Year Honours List

World-renowned University of Canterbury Physics Professor Philip Butler has been made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (CNZM) for ...

Professor Brendon Bradley

Accelerating research into seismic hazard analysis and forecasting

A University of Canterbury Earthquake Engineering professor who is leading worldwide research into the effects of ground-shaking caused by earthquakes ...