Reciprocal borrowing agreements

The UC Library has reciprocal borrowing agreements with many other tertiary institutions in New Zealand and Australia that enable UC students and staff to register as borrowers at these institutions' libraries and students and staff from these institutions to register as borrowers with the UC Library.

Participating universities

Each library has different terms and conditions; please check the information available for each library:

  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Lincoln University
  • Massey University
  • Otago University
  • Victoria University
  • Waikato University
  • Ara Institute of Canterbury
  • List of Australian universities

Information for UC staff and students

Borrowing/access is limited to physical collections only and each library has their own terms and conditions for reciprocal borrowers (including possible charges for library cards). You should check with the library you want to join to find out their conditions and registration process.

If you require access to material from libraries (New Zealand and overseas) not in the list above, see Interloans.

Information on borrowing from the UC Library for members of reciprocal partner institutions.


You must register in order to borrow items from the UC Library. We do not charge any fees for registration.

Your home institution staff or student card will serve as your library card at the UC Library and must be presented as proof of current enrolment or employment as part of the registration procedure. You will also be required to supply your home institution email address.

You can register at any time the library is open - just go to an information desk in any UC Library*. You will be asked to read and accept a Privacy Statement for ULANZ/CTA Registration (PDF 1.2MB). * Applications cannot be processed after 9 pm at the Central Library.

Library staff will then set up a record for you, and once this is created you can start borrowing immediately.

All registrations for the current year expire on 28th February of the following year.

Please note:

Students from other tertiary institutions are always assigned undergraduate privileges. This includes borrowers who have research student privileges at their home institution. Staff will be assigned staff privileges. Information about loan provisions can be found here.