Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University

Inspire the Next Generation

Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University is raising primary and secondary students’ aspirations towards further and higher education.

childrens university at teece

"I like Children's University because I go to lots of fun places and do lots of fun challenges like making a rainbow in a glass. The portal was good in lockdown because I could still do the fun activities"

Dylan, 7 years old
Bromley School

When young people fall in love with learning they are more likely to aspire towards further and higher education.

Te Mātāpuna Mātātahi | Children’s University is a joint initiative between the Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury and Lincoln University. This dynamic programme is fostering young people’s love of learning and showing them learning can happen anywhere.

Children between the ages of 7-14, many from disadvantaged communities, are issued “Passports to Learning” through their school or rūnanga. Participants fill their passports by visiting Learning Destinations, which are local organisations that offer fun and educational activities and experiences.

Once they reach 30 hours of learning, students are invited to attend a formal graduation ceremony at the Christchurch Town Hall to celebrate their achievement. This programme encourages children to try new things in a safe to fail environment and is great for students who may not excel in a traditional classroom setting. These experiences help children gain skills and confidence they can use throughout their life so they can help build a better future for Aotearoa New Zealand.

Each passport costs $25. A gift of $100 to Children’s University can provide Passports to Learning to four deserving young children.

childrens university graduation

Participating Schools and Rūnanga for 2020

Amuri Area School Mairehau Primary School
Ararira Springs School Ngāi Te Ruahikihiki Taumutu
Banks Ave School Prebbleton School
Bromley School Rāwhiti School
Ellesmere College Rolleston College
Ilam Primary School Te Matauru Primary
Jean Seabrook Memorial      Te Pā o Rākaihautū
Ladbrooks School Te Waka Unua School
Lincoln Primary School Whītau School
Linwood College