Wananga landing Wananga landing

UC celebrates excellence of over 100 colleagues

01 December 2022

Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | the University of Canterbury (UC) celebrated the success of more than 100 academic and professional staff members on Wednesday.


Every year, high-achieving UC staff are celebrated with a range of awards for development and success across research, teaching, sustainability, UC’s values, academic promotions, long service, national recognition, and health, safety and wellbeing.

This year, over 100 staff members were acknowledged for their talents and contributions towards the UC community at a special gathering, Hui Whakamānawa | Celebrating Excellence.

After introducing UC’s Ngā Uara | Our Values last year, the Ngā Uara | Our Values Awards were awarded for the first time this year.

Kaihautū Matua Pūmanawa Tangata | Executive Director of People, Culture and Campus Life Paul O’Flaherty said he was pleased to announce the first winners of the new values awards: “who have been doing incredible mahi and lived our values of maanakitanga, tiakitanga and whanaungatanga”.

“Today’s event just illustrates the diversity and capability of our university community. Congratulations to all the winners and thank you for all your hard work for our UC community,” ​​​​​​​O’Flaherty says.

Congratulations to all those awarded and acknowledged at Hui Whakamānawa.

SDG 4 Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 4 - Quality Education

Ngā Uara | Our Values Awards:

  • Manaakitanga (extending care and empowering others) – Katie Mills and George Haswell
  • Tiakitanga (enhancing and nurturing our resources) – Breeze Robertson
  • Whanaungatanga (valuing people and their differences) – Rīpeka Tamanui-Hurunui and Will Shannon

Katie Mills and George Haswell led the entire institutional response to Covid-19 contact tracing and the delivery of over 2000 care packs for isolating students. Read more about their mahi here.

People’s Choice:

  • Rachel Rogers, for her positive attitude and generosity of spirit generating wellbeing and embodying the principles of Te Pae Māhutonga wellbeing model.

Sustainability Awards:

  • Advancing Sustainability Research Award
    • Winner: Distinguished Professor Steven Ratuva
    • Highly Commended: Dr Joya Kemper
  • Advancing Sustainability Knowledge Award
    • Winner: Primary Science and Technology team
    • Highly Commended: The Environmental Science Programme
  • Protecting our Planet Award
    • Winner: Jessica Saul
    • Highly Commended: Professor Don Hine
  • Protecting our Planet Award
    • Winner: Professor Bronwyn Hayward

Read about Distinguished Professor Steven Ratuva’s mahi on the Pacific Ocean and Climate Crisis Assessment and Jessica Saul’s engagement at Te Rua | Makerspace.

Health, Safety and Wellbeing Awards:

  • Health, Safety and Wellbeing Recognition Award – Grounds team
  • Health, Safety and Wellbeing Innovation Award – Matthew Cowan

Read more about the 2022 Health, Safety and Wellbeing Recognition Award here.

Capability Awards:

  • Tracy Anderson, Social Media Editor, Marketing
  • Aleisha Blake, Senior Communications Advisor, Communications and Events
  • Sarah Petersen, Academic Services Manager, Faculty of Education

Professorial appointments:

  • Misty Sato
  • Alex Yip
  • Matthias Galster
  • Michael Hayes
  • Rua Murray
  • Paul Docherty
  • Hazel Chapman
  • Tammy Steeves
  • Travis Horton
  • Wolfgang Rack
  • Sarah Masters
  • Virginia McIntosh
  • Laura-Lee McLay
  • Christopher Akroyd (in absentia)
  • Jeremy Clark
  • Tom Coupe
  • Jörg Finsterwalder

Read more about the newly appointed professors here.

UC Early and Emerging Career:

  • Dr Matt Hobbs – for his efforts to help New Zealander’s stay healthy
  • Dr Sarah Flanagan – for her study on the native pipefish

UC Teaching Awards:

  • General Teaching Award – Dr Christian Walsh and Dr Susannah Stevens
  • Outstanding Teaching and Learning Transformation Award – Dr Erin Harrington and Dr Zita Joyce
  • Hapori Community of Practice Award – Theresa Buller

 Read more about the UC Teaching Awards here.

Teaching Development Scholarship:

  • Associate Professor Ann-Marie Kennedy – Incorporating student voice in student engagement with online learning
  • Dr Nicola Dunham – Story globe: Immersive narratives for teaching and learning.
  • Associate Professor Arindam Basu – Building the "Metaversity" of Canterbury.
  • Associate Professor Darren Gravely (in absentia) & Associate Professor Billy O’Steen – Blending field science education with social entrepreneurship and environmental conservation through a virtual zipline.
  • Hilary Kingston and Nikki Tod – Building authentic partnerships to inform using narrative pedagogy in ITE programmes.

Read more about the scholars.

Long Service Awards:


  • Neville Watson
  • Alan Poynter
  • Timothy Bell
  • Michael Shurety
  • Frank Weerts
  • David van Leeuwen
  • Jeanette Allen
  • Allen Witt
  • John Maley
  • Catherine O'Shaughnessy
  • Mark Milke
  • Julian Murphy
  • Gunter Steinke


  • Susan Bouterey
  • James Ockey


  • Diane Caddick
  • John Dalrymple-Alford
  • Ainsley Gardiner
  • Steven Graham
  • John Davis
  • David Conder
  • David Schiel
  • Wayne Mackay
  • Robyn Daly
  • Robert Spiers


  • Jennifer Owens
  • Peter Kennedy
  • Timothy O'Sullivan
  • Alison Whitla

Planning, Finance & Digital

  • Christine Rodd
  • John Edwards
  • Margaret Adam

People, Culture and Campus

  • Terry O'Brien
  • Paul Cooper
  • Shelley Nicholson
  • Warwick Findlay

Royal Society Te Apārangi Awards 2022:

  • Professor Paul Millar – 2022 Pou Aronui Award, for distinguished service to aronui humanities over a sustained period of time. Read more
  • Professor Ann Brower – 2022 Charles Fleming Award for Environmental Achievement, for the protection of the New Zealand environment. More here.

The Higher Education Academy (HEA) Fellowship recipients

  • Associate Professor Debra Wilson
  • Dr Toni Collins
  • Associate Professor Natalie Baird
  • Dr Miguel Morales
  • Associate Professor Laura Revell
  • Hilary Kingston
  • Professor Matthias Galster
  • Dr Shea Esterling
  • Professor Tom Coupe

Te Whatu Kairangi AKO Award 2022 recipient:

  • Associate Professor Eileen Britt
More information
Visit our media enquiries page to contact UC Media.
What to read next
Privacy Preferences

By clicking "Accept All Cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.