Wananga landing Wananga landing

UC appoints 17 new professors

01 December 2022

Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury celebrated seventeen newly appointed professors at the staff celebration Hui Whakamānawa | Celebrating Excellence this Wednesday.


Seventeen new UC professors pictured with Tumu Whakarae | Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey (front left).

Together with other professional and academic colleagues, the newly appointed professors were invited to gather with their whānau and friends, and UC’s Senior Leadership Team to celebrate their recent success at the event.

SDG 4 Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 4 - Quality Education

Tumu Tuarua Rangahau | Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research Professor Ian Wright said: “We pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of future-focused education and research with impact in a changing world. UC is locally engaged and globally networked and is emerging as a leader in sustainability solutions. All this would not be possible without the skilled academics that we are proud to have in our UC community.”

Professor Wright said that each of the new appointments was well deserved and reflected years of dedication and achievement in their field. “At UC, we foster the ethos of excellence, relevance, and impact, and a culture of high ethical standards, collaboration, and innovation. It is wonderful to have the opportunity to celebrate the success of our talented staff at Hui Whakamānawa, including our outstanding researchers and educators.”

Academics apply for promotion to the rank of professor via a rigorous process. They must provide evidence of excellence and impact in the areas of teaching, research, and service.

Congratulations to the seventeen new professors on reaching this significant milestone in their academic careers:

  • Alex Yip, Department of Chemical and Process Engineering
  • Christopher Akroyd, Department of Accounting and Information Systems
  • Hazel Chapman, School of Biological Sciences
  • Jeremy Clark, Department of Economics and Finance
  • Jörg Finsterwalder, Department of Management, Marketing and Tourism
  • Laura-Lee McLay, School of Health Sciences
  • Matthias Galster, Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Michael Hayes, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Misty Sato, School of Teacher Education
  • Paul Docherty, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Rua Murray, School of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Sarah Masters, School of Physical and Chemical Sciences
  • Tammy Steeves, School of Biological Sciences
  • Tom Coupe, Department of Economics and Finance
  • Travis Horton, School of Earth and Environment
  • Virginia McIntosh, School of Psychology, Speech and Hearing
  • Wolfgang Rack, School of Earth and Environment
More information
Visit our media enquiries page to contact UC Media.
What to read next
Privacy Preferences

By clicking "Accept All Cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.