Grading scale

UC adopted a common grading scale in 2012. This applies to all preparatory, undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate courses across all colleges.

GradeGPA valueMarks
A+ 9 90-100
A 8 85-89.9
A- 7 80-84.9
B+ 6 75-79.9
B 5 70-74.9
B- 4 65-69.9
C+ 3 60-64.9
C 2 55-59.9
C- 1 50-54.9
D 0 40-49.9
E -1 0-39.9
Non-numerical gradeGPA valueDefinition
P n/a Pass
F n/a Fail
S n/a Special pass
R Restricted pass #
X -3 Dishonesty
I n/a Incomplete*


# In a course at 100 or 200-level examiners may grant restricted credit which shall be equivalent to a pass for all purposes except as a prerequisite. In such cases a student may apply to re-enrol in the course to obtain non-restricted credit, however credit must only be issued once for any course.

* Used for abandoned PhDs or where a Master's level has been awarded instead of a PhD.

For all enquiries please contact:

Joanne Noble-Nesbitt

Poutoko Kounga Akoranga
Academic Quality Team Leader
Matariki L5 Sth
Internal Phone: 93984