Wananga landing Wananga landing

Thirteen new professors promoted at UC

02 December 2021

Promotion to the rank of Professor is a significant accomplishment, recognising academics who work at the forefront of their discipline with sustained excellence in teaching, research, and engagement with communities.


Thirteen new UC professors pictured with Tumu Whakarae | Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey (centre).

The University of Canterbury values academics who are outstanding intellectuals in their field, innovative and empathetic teachers, influential and internationally respected researchers, leaders who share their knowledge to benefit communities, and who embrace Mātauranga Māori.

Thirteen academic staff at the University of Canterbury have been promoted to professor in the 2021 round, representing the breadth and depth of expertise across the institution.

SDG 4 Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 4 - Quality Education.

Tumu Whakarae | Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey says each of the new appointments was richly deserved.

“It is with great pleasure we announce these appointments. Each new professor has contributed significantly to new knowledge. They have conducted important research – from their postdoctoral work to their ongoing, world-leading, research. They empower the next generation through their teaching, and they share their knowledge with different groups, from industry partners to interested communities,” she says.

“We are proud of all of our talented academics, and we congratulate our newest professors, who bring considerable mana to themselves and to the University of Canterbury.”

Academics apply for promotion to the rank of professor via a rigorous process. They must provide evidence of excellence and impact in the areas of teaching, research, and service.

Congratulations to the University of Canterbury’s new professors:

Catherine Bishop Mechanical Engineering

Ann Brower School of Earth and Environment

David Conradson School of Earth and Environment

Deirdre Hart School of Earth and Environment

Alex James Mathematics and Statistics

Gregory MacRae Civil and Natural Resources Engineering

Aaron Marshall Chemical and Process Engineering

Donald Matheson School of Language, Social and Political Sciences

Diane Mollenkopf Management, Marketing, and Entrepreneurship

Dirk Pons Mechanical Engineering

Chris Pretty - Mechanical Engineering

Te Maire Tau - Pou Whakarae, Director/Associate Teacher, Ngai Tahu Research Centre

Kevin Watson - School of Language, Social and Political Sciences

More information
Visit our media enquiries page to contact UC Media.
What to read next
Privacy Preferences

By clicking "Accept All Cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.