Wananga landing Wananga landing

More countries recognise a Palestinian state – what's stopping NZ?

28 May 2024

Norway, Spain, and Ireland formally recognise the state of Palestine. While 143 of the 193 United Nations member states already recognise Palestine, this is a significant moment – and leaves New Zealand in an even smaller group of countries yet to follow suit.


UC Associate Professor in Law, Dr James Mehigan explains in The Conversation how the actions of Norway, Spain, and Ireland present a unique opportunity for New Zealand to be in the vanguard of the development of a lasting peace in Israel and Palestine. Read the article here.

Disclosure statement  

James Mehigan received funding from the Irish O'Brien Foundation to support the research and publication of Defending Hope: Dispatches From the Front Lines in Palestine and Israel (edited with Eoin Murray, published by Veritas in 2018).  

What to read next
Privacy Preferences

By clicking "Accept All Cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.