EPECentre and PEET scholars celebrated at annual Scholarship Awards

16 October 2020

Scholars, staff and industry representatives enjoyed talks by former scholars, followed by scholarship presentations.

The annual Scholarship Awards were held on 6 October 2020, with about 70 people attending. This annual event celebrates all EPECentre and Aruhiko - PEET scholars from First Year to postgraduate students.

More than 220 scholarships have been awarded since 2002 on behalf of all PEET members. In 2020, 37 undergraduate and 2 postgraduate scholars have been awarded.

Sean McCready (EEA), who has been involved in PEET as the Executive Secretary for many years, welcomed everyone. The scholars were able to meet with industry representatives from about 10 companies and listen to our guest speakers, who awarded the scholars on behalf of all PEET Members:

  • Dr Nikki Newham (Transpower), PEET Board member and former Postgraduate scholar – awarded the PEET postgraduate and Fourth Year (Third Pro) scholars

  • Laura Harding (Beca), 2016-2019 Undergraduate scholar – awarded the PEET Third Year (Second Pro) scholars

  • Jacob Smith (Ergo Consulting), 2017 Undergraduate scholar – awarded the PEET Second Year (First Pro) and First Year (Engineering Intermediate) scholars

  • Peter Brown (PSC), PEET Board member and Geoffrey Callander (PSC) – awarded the 2020 PSC scholar (Sunesh Parbhu)

We would like to thank our speakers for their time and commitment to share and meet with students.



2022 Power Engineering Scholars

Scholars celebrated at annual Scholarship Awards

Students, staff and industry came together for the annual awards and the APEX Summit on 6 October 2022.

Group at manawa energy field trip 2022

Students gain insight in to power industry during field trip to Lake Coleridge ...

A group of 28 Electrical and Electronic Engineering students, along with three EPECentre and ECE staff, visited Manawa Energy’s Lake Coleridge ...