50th Anniversary Conference and Reunion

Learning from the Past to Grow the Future: 50 years of forestry education and research

We are sorry to announce that our SOF 50th Conference/Reunion in April will not take place. Only last week we were still planning (and hoping); with no South Island cases and the University open for ‘business as usual’. However, new travel restrictions means our alumni and ex-staff coming from abroad are not able to attend, many of our larger companies have implemented ‘non-essential’ travel restrictions, and people are genuinely apprehensive about any event that brings together larger numbers of people. Given this heightened level of concern and likely additional constraints in the next few weeks, it is simply not prudent for us to proceed.

For many of you that have made plans we recognise this is both disappointing and an inconvenience. Sorry. We were looking forward to hosting you all – many of you have great memories (and friends) from your time here at the SOF, as do we of you. While we intend to hold a reunion / celebration at a later time, at this stage it is not feasible to suggest a date.

If you registered through Eventbrite, you should be receiving a refund directly. Eventbrite is an ‘external service provider’ – on their website they suggest it can take up to 7 days for the refund to show up in your account. As such please be a little patient, we have no control over their system.

From the organising committee (Jeanette, Bruce, Justin and Rien + SOF staff)

Our Forestry 50th Anniversary Programme includes information on our speakers and timings for the variety of events being held. We will provide a further update in late February. 

Registration for the conference is through Eventbrite.

Registration costs (including GST) are:

  • Early Bird Registration (closes 31 January 2020) $320.00
  • Registration (1 February onwards) $375.00
  • School of Forestry 50th Anniversary Dinner $85.00

Accommodation is the responsibility of the attendees. The pin on the map below will show you the conference location, and the following four motels are within easy walking distance:

311 Motel Riccarton
311 Riccarton Rd, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041.
+64 3 3 222 2368
           Academy Motor Lodge
62 Creyke Rd, Ilam, Christchurch 8004.
+64 3 351 9347
Comfort Inn Riccarton
280 Riccarton Rd, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041.
+64 3 341 1280
  315 Motel Riccarton
315 Riccarton Rd, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8042.
+64 3 982 9882
Temporary Accommodation Options listed through UC Accommodation:





Graduating year groups are welcome to arrange their own reunion events. These could be from the Friday after the field trip, or Saturday morning. Please contact us if you would like us to leave a social media link below for your reunion event.


Contact:  Event Link/Contact: 
1978Tim ThorpeTim Thorpe
1980Peter WilksPeter Wilks
1984Phil Taylor or Paul Adams     Phil Taylor   Paul Adams
1985Bruce ChaddertonBruce Chadderton
1986David JanettDavid Janett
1987Brett GilmoreBrett Gilmore
1989Rachael Mahan (McLauchlan)  Rachael Mahan
1993Euan McIntoshEuan McIntosh
1995, 1996Jeremy CrangJeremy Crang
2000Scott AndrewScott Andrew
2003James KerrJames Kerr
2004Maria Nally (Bosman) Maria Nally
2005Adie FortuneAdie Fortune
2009Sally Moore (Haddon)Sally Moore
2015Adrian LooAdrian Loo
2017Christoph RiedelChristoph Riedel

Our Sponsors