concrete UC sign on clyde road

The University of Canterbury is proud of the magnificent bequest left by a former distinguished student John Angus Erskine. This bequest enables some 70 Visiting Erskine Fellowships to be awarded each year for international visitors to give lectures to students in those departments eligible for access to the bequest.

The similar Visiting Canterbury Fellowships Programme provides for a small number of visits to the balance of academic departments and is administered by the programme office. The bequest also funds up to 25 University of Canterbury academics in eligible departments to travel to overseas institutions on an Erskine Grant.

Erskine-eligible grants and fellowships

  • Visiting Erskine Fellowships
  • Visiting Cambridge Fellowships
  • Visiting Oxford Fellowships
  • Erskine Grants
  • Cambridge Grants
  • Oxford Grants

apply to the following schools/departments:

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemical and Process Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil and Natural Resources Engineering
  • Communication Disorders
  • Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Forestry
  • Gateway Antarctica
  • Geography
  • Geological Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Philosophy
  • Product Design
  • Linguistics
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Psychology
  • UC Business School

Other grants and fellowships arranged by the office:

  • Visiting Canterbury Fellowships
  • Visiting Cambridge Fellowships
  • Visiting Oxford Fellowships
  • Cambridge Grants
  • Canterbury Grants
  • Oxford Grants

apply to the following schools/departments:

  • Educational Studies and Leadership
  • Humanities and Creative Arts; (Philosophy not eligible for Canterbury Fellowships)
  • Language, Social and Political Sciences; (Linguistics not eligible for Canterbury Fellowships)
  • Law
  • Māori & Indigenous Studies
  • Sport and Physical Education
  • Teacher Education
  • AND Visiting Māori & Indigenous Studies Fellowship for the School of Maori & Indigenous Studies

Erskine Bequest eligibility: Each college has an annual quota of Visiting Erskine Fellows and the award of Fellowships is via nomination from the Head of the relevant School/Department, following Departmental consultation, then forwarded to the College Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) for approval. Potential visitors correspond in the first instance with the relevant Head of School/Department or academic colleague and should send a current curriculum vitae together with any accompanying materials.

Cambridge/Canterbury, Oxford/Canterbury and Canterbury Fellowships and Grants are awarded on a competitive basis with nominations requested yearly, usually in February.

For all enquiries

get in touch