150th Twelve Local Heroes trail information

The University of Canterbury is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year. As part of our celebrations, we’ve installed Twelve Local Heroes as an art trail on our Ilam campus.

These men and women, sculpted by UC arts alumni Mark Whyte, are among those whose achievements in the second half of the twentieth century are remembered with pride and pleasure by the people of Christchurch. As many of them have strong links with the University of Canterbury, the sculptures have been gifted on loan to UC from the Canterbury Museum, where they will remain on our Ilam campus for the next two years. Hosting the Twelve Local Heroes collection is our way of honouring our community and the impact these 12 remarkable people have made on the city’s creative, sporting, business, and social life.

Read more about each local hero, or view the Twelve Local Heroes trail map below.

Sir Tipene O'Regan 

Sir Miles Warren 

Margaret Mahy 

Sir Robertson Stewart

Sir Richard Hadlee 

Charles Luney 

Diana, Lady Isaac 

Donald Beaven 

Sir Angus Tait 

Elsie Locke  

Frank Dickson 

William Sutton