The inaugural College of Science Teaching Awards

26 April 2017

Geological Sciences staff lead the field at the UC College of Science Teaching Awards, in recognition of their efforts to revamp 100-level courses.

  • Students in lecture landscape

The winner of the College of Science Innovation in Teaching Award 2016 is a team led by Travis Horton, with Paul Ashwell and Kate Pedley from Geological Sciences. Their application outlined innovation in both content and pedagogy in the reworking of two 100-level courses in response to declining 100-level enrolments and student feedback. Some of the innovation pertained to the graduate attribute of employability and included an increased focus on modern skill development and a change from lecture format to dynamic group-led learning.

There are two winners of inaugural College of Science Kaupapa Māori Teaching Award 2016: Eileen Britt of the Department of Psychology, and John Pirker of the School of Biological Sciences.

Eileen has made significant and tangible contributions to bicultural training within the Clinical Psychology Programme, as Chair of the Bicultural Working Group in the Department of Psychology, and as a member of the College’s Te Ohu Pūtaiao.John’s sustained commitment to Kaupapa Māori teaching philosophy is impressive, as is the number and breadth of bicultural teaching activities with which he is involved. 

Each College of Science Teaching Award comes with a prize of $3000 grant in aid to support the further development of the teaching work in question.

Lardelli art

Ground-breaking UC academics, Māori culture champions among staff, alumni named ...

Two pioneering University of Canterbury academics, a new Dame who champions Māori women, a new Knight who champions Māori art, a Pasifika poet, a ...

Sally Gaw

New science podcast launches out of lockdown

The University of Canterbury (UC) has launched a new science podcast series to meet public demand for answers to the big issues facing our world.