Current PhD Students

Colin Bloom

Coseismic Landslide Interactions with Surface Fault Rupture During the 2016 Kaikōura Earthquake
colin.bloom@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jaime Delano

Understanding vertical deformation from New Zealand earthquakes
jaime.delano@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Tim Stahl

Pedro Doll

A study in the postglacial effusive activity of Mt Ruapehu, New Zealand
pedro.doll@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Ben Kennedy

Koen Faber

Assessing the role of life events and socialisation in active travel behaviour: A biographical approach
koen.faber@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Simon Kingham, Lindsey Conrow

Pablo Fuchs

Sensitivity of mountain glacier energy and mass budgets to changes in surface conditions
juan.fuchsarce@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Heather Purdie, Marwan Katurji

Natasha Gardiner

The effectiveness of the science / decision-maker nexus in an Antarctic context
natasha.gardiner@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Laura Gnesko

Submarine coseismic landslides and underwater landscape dynamics of the Kaikōura Canyon
laura.gnesko@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Tim Stahl, Joshu Mountjoy

Rodrigo Gomez Fell

Ice Tongue stability in a changing climate
rodrigo.gomezfell@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Johanna Hanson

Paleoecology and past climate of Banks Peninsula, and the environmental impacts of anthropogenic activity over the Holocene.
jha340@uclive.ac.nz
Supervisors: Catherine Reid, Jamie Shulmeister

Henry Hoult

Conduit establishment and evolution during explosive eruptions of Mt Taranaki inferred from volcanic lithics
henry.hoult@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jade Humphrey

Fault interactions and multi-fault ruptures in central New Zealand
jade.humphrey@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Andy Nicol

Tim Martin

Applying active learning strategies through a Volcanology virtual field experience based MOOC.
timothy.martin@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Ben Kennedy

Doug Mason

Performance of cut and fill slopes in earthquakes and impacts on the built environment
dougal.mason@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Clark Fenton

Tyler McNabb

Socio-ecological co-benefits of urban blue-green infrastructure
tyler.mcnabb@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Rita Dionisio, Ed Challies

Erin Murray

River avulsions caused by fault surface ruptures: processes and review of immediate impacts
erin.murray@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Tim Stahl

Martin Nguyen

tmn52@uclive.ac.nz

Eva Nielsen

Data driven analysis of the spatiotemporal occurrence and impact of foehn events along the terrestrial coastal margin of Antarctica using remote sensed products
eva.nielsen@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Marwan Katurji, Peyman Zawar-Reza

Nicholas Patton

Landscape evolution of the south east Queensland dune fields
nicholas.patton@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Jamie Shulmeister, Tim Stahl

Gabriela Pilson

Weather-Related Risk Management Decision-Making in Antarctic Tourism: Expedition Guides’ Perspectives
gabriela.pilson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Daniela Liggett

Andrea Pozo Estivariz

Advancing methods of rapid flood risk scenario assessment using hybrid approaches of hydraulic modelling and machine learning
andrea.pozoestivariz@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: Matthew Wilson

Justin Rogers

A numerical simulation of fine sediment dynamics in the lower Rangitata River in response to different flow regimes, supported by complete substrate mapping, with a view to informing flow management of the River and its impact on ecological values.
justin.rogers@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisor: James Brasington

Marcos Rossetti

Three-dimensional architecture and petrophysical properties of buried volcanic systems.
marcos.rossetti@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Tusar Sahoo

Tectonic evolution and petroleum system development in the Great South Basin
tusar.sahoo@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Sulaiman Sarwary

Institutional structures, social capital & community resilience: can legislative & governance arrangements facilitate community influence on disaster resilience recovery decision making?
sulaiman.sarwary@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Sarah Beaven, John Hopkins

Finn Scheele

Modelling post-disaster habitability and population displacement
finn.scheele@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Corinne Singeisen

Identifying controlling factors on initiation and failure mechanisms of large co-seismic landslides during the 2016 Mw7.8 Kaikōura Earthquake using numerical modelling
corinne.singeisen@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jan Sintenie

jsi120@uclive.ac.nz

Sarah Smithies

Rhyolitic magma system of the 350 – 240 ka ignimbrite flare-up, Taupō Volcanic Zone, New Zealand
sarah.smithies@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Amilea Sork

From launch to landing: Flight dynamics of molten volcanic ballistics.
amilea.sork@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Hadee Thompson-Morrison

Trace element fluxes in African oil palm (Elaeis guineensis) agroecosystems
hadee.thompson-morrison@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Brett Robinson, Sally Gaw

Julia Torres Ventura

Decolonising Indigenous Peoples’ Territories. A comparative analysis of the legal persons: Urewera Forest, New Zealand and Atrato River, Colombia.
julia.torresventura@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Ann Brower, Elizabeth Macpherson, Lindsey MacDonald

Alex Watson

Geoparks, Education & Outreach: Strengthening Geoscience Education in Aotearoa New Zealand?
alex.watson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Supervisors: Ben Kennedy, Samuel Hampton