Chemistry Olympiad

  • SPCS Chem Olympiad 2018

    The 2018 New Zealand team and guide: Russell Boey, Callan Loomes, Their Guide, Steven Ma and Stefan Ivanov

The annual Chemistry Olympiad is an international chemistry competition for teams of four young people from around the world. The New Zealand team is selected, trained and coordinated as a collaboration between the universities and high schools.

The 2019 Olympiad is the 51st and is to be held in Paris; the 2020 Olympiad will be in Turkey.

Selection of a training group is made around October/November of the previous year and is based upon performance in a selection test. It will next be held on 19 or 20 September 2019. The selection test assumes knowledge of only Year 12 (NCEA Level 2) Chemistry and is great preparation for these exams.

During term one, the training group will undergo a programme which includes reading material, problem assignments and a test in early March. From the test, 30 students are chosen in mid-March for a training camp to be held in the April school break. The International Olympiad takes place in July.

The initial NZCHO test in September is an opportunity for students to be challenged and test skills that will extend them and prepare them for the external exams.  Students will be awarded Gold, Silver and Bronze certificates based on their level of achievement.  The results of this test will also be used to select the students in the NZCHO training group however the following additional criteria will apply.  

To be eligible, students must be under 20 and not intending to attend University in the year of the International Olympiad. Students must be a NZ Citizen or permanent resident at the time of accepting a place in the training group and must have attended school in NZ for two of the last 4 years prior to selection for the training group.

 Any student who was in the training group last year, and still meets the other criteria, will get automatic selection to the training group the following year. You will still need to register.


The New Zealand Chemistry Olympiad Trust is a member of the Science Olympianz Association.

Students can now register and pay online at:

 Registration should be completed by 12 September. The cost is $30 plus fees and GST. You will need your contact details as well as the name and e-mail address of your teacher.

If you were in the training group previously, you do not need to sit the entry exam again or pay the initial exam fee, but you must still register at the above web address. You will also need to pay the $40 training group fee after the training group is announced.

 Teachers are no longer required to register.





Team 2019: Paris, France

Name  Position  Education Medal
Rayman Tang Team  Macleans College  
Jaqlin van Schalkwyk Team Kristin School  
Daniel Ahn Team Macleans College  
Connor Gallagher Team St Peter’s College  
Dr Andrew (Buck) Rogers Head Mentor St Peter’s College  
Dr Alick Lal Mentor Macleans College  
Dr Sheila Woodgate Observer University of Auckland  


Team 2018: Bratislava, Slovakia; and Prague, the Czech Republic

Name  Position  Education Medal
Russell Boey Team   St Andrew’s College  
Callan Loomes Team Auckland Grammar School  
Steven Ma Team Auckland Grammar School  
Stefan Ivanov Team Westlake Boys High School  
Dr Andrew (Buck) Rogers Head Mentor St Peter’s College  
Dr Sheila Woodgate Mentor University of Auckland  
Dr Jan Giffney Observer St Cuthbert’s College  


Team 2017: Bangkok, Thailand

Name  Position  Education Medal
 Janice Ho  Team   Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Zijun (Allen) Hui  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Silver
 Milidu Ratnayake  Team   Auckland Grammar School Bronze
 Sang (Harry) Yeom  Team  Auckland International College Bronze
 Dr Owen Curnow  Head Mentor  University of Canterbury  
 Dr Stephen McCracken  Mentor  Mt Roskill Grammar School  
 Katrina Graaf  Observer  University of Auckland  


Team 2016: Tbilisi, Georgia

Name  Position  Education Medal
 Ellena Black   Team   St Andrew’s College, Christchurch Bronze
 Lucas Lee  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Edward Liu  Team   Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Ben Zhang  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 William Wang  Reserve  King’s College, Auckland  
 Dr Duncan McGillivray Mentors  University of Auckland  
 Dr Andrew (Buck) Rogers Mentors  St Peter’s College  


Team 2015: Baku, Azerbaijan

Name  Position  Education Medal
 Hugo Brown  Team   St Paul's Collegiate, Hamilton Bronze
 Brianna Nally  Team  James Hargest High School Bronze
 Thomas Chang  Team   Auckland Grammar Schoo Bronze
 David Kim  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Sam Frengley  Reserve  St Peter's School, Cambridge  
 Dr Jan Giffney Mentors  St Cuthbert's College  
 Dr Sheila Woodgate Mentors  University of Auckland
 Dr Allick Lal Observer  Macleans College


For all enquiries contact: