Macmillan Brown Prize for Writers



Waeture | Regulations

The prize recognises excellence in English composition by current and recent undergraduate students of Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury.

- 1. Three prizes are available annually:
 - a. A first prize with a value of \$2,500
 - b. A second prize with a value of \$1,000
 - c. A third prize with a value of \$500
- 2. Applicants must either:
 - a. be enrolled as undergraduate students at the University; or
 - b. have become eligible to graduate with an undergraduate degree from the University no more than three years prior to the closing date for applications (see clause 5).
- 3. Applicants must submit an original piece of writing of their own sole composition, either unpublished or published, which deals imaginatively with any theme: an essay, a short story, a poem or group of poems, or a short play. The total length of the submission must not exceed 2,500 words.
- 4. Submissions are not accepted from previous recipients of the prize.
- 5. Submissions must be made online at the Scholarships website¹ by 30 September.
- 6. The prize is awarded by Te Kaunihera | University Council on the recommendation of the Tumuaki Tari, Te Reo Ingarihi | Head of the Department of English (or nominee), who will have convened a selection committee of three members of the academic staff of Te Tari Reo Ingarihi | Department of English.
- 7. In making the recommendations, the Tumuaki Tari, Te Reo Ingarihi | Head of the Department of English (or nominee) considers the literary merit of submitted works, which must be anonymous.²
- 8. If, in any year, there are fewer submissions of sufficient merit than there are prizes available, fewer prizes are offered.
- 9. The prize is paid by direct credit to a recipient's nominated Aotearoa New Zealand bank account.
- A condition of acceptance is that a recipient permits announcement and publication of acceptance of the award.

Whakamahuki | Background information: This prize was established in 1965 (as the Macmillan Brown Prize in English Composition) along with the Macmillan Brown Essay Prize, following the restructuring of two awards that had both been named "the Macmillan Brown Prize". The administration of one of the prizes had been transferred in that year to the University from the University Grants Committee; the other had been established at Canterbury College on the occasion of the 1923 jubilee of the College (as the Macmillan Prize for English Composition) by Emeritus Professor John Macmillan Brown (1846–1935).

Rā whakaae | Approval date: July 2022

Tuhinga i mua | Previous versions: May 2008; September 2014; May 2016; June 2016; July 2018

Tohutoro | Reference: 5075/6/10; MB_Prize_Writers; 94610

Pitopito kōrero | Notes

¹ http://www.canterbury.ac.nz/scholarships/