Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Scholarship



Regulations

1. Donor

Hugh McDougall Rankin, a former prominent Christchurch businessman, established the Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Trust in 2008 for the purposes of providing financial assistance to science students in Christchurch both at the state secondary school and tertiary institution levels. Having struggled himself during the Depression of the 1930s to obtain his Food Technology qualifications the donor was especially keen to support students needing financial assistance to obtain tertiary qualifications in the sciences and with the potential to contribute to the technological wealth of New Zealand.

2. Number and Value

One scholarship will be awarded annually. The value of the scholarship will be determined by the Trustees.

Note: The current value is up to \$7,000, which will be credited directly to the recipient's tuition fees account at the time of enrolment.

3. Eligibility

- a. Applicants must be full time students undertaking an undergraduate degree programme in any physical science subject, such as chemistry, physics, biology, engineering, biotechnology, biochemistry, mathematics, and applied sciences, who have successfully completed at least one year of tertiary study at Lincoln University, University of Canterbury, or Ara Institute of Canterbury.
- b. Applicants must have had not less than four years' secondary schooling in a state (excluding state-integrated)^{1 2} secondary school within the boundaries of the Christchurch City Territorial Local Authority.³
- c. Applicants must be under the age of 25 years when applying for the scholarship.
- d. Previous recipients, including a recipient of the secondary school Hugh McDougall Rankin Educational Scholarship, are eligible to apply.

¹ To check the status of a school see http://www.educationcounts.govt.nz/find-school/schools?region=13&district=60. Only those schools listed as only "State" under "Authority" on this list are applicable; those listed as "State: integrated" are not applicable.

² Those who attended Ao Tawhiti and who had been pupils of the private school Unlimited Paenga Tawhiti are eligible.

³ For the boundaries of the Christchurch City Territorial Local Authority see https://ccc.govt.nz/the-council/how-the-council-works/mayor-and-councillors/representation/.

4. Selection Criteria

The criteria for selection will be:

- a. financial hardship; and
- b. academic merit (applicants should have a B+ Grade Point Average).

5. Selection Committee

The scholarship will be awarded by the Trustees of the Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Trust, based on a recommendation by a selection committee comprising:

- a. the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury, or nominee; and
- b. the Dean of Science or the Dean of Engineering of the University of Canterbury.

The selection committee may request the applicant to attend an interview as part of the selection process.

The selection committee may refrain from making an award if it finds no candidate of sufficient merit.

6. Tenure

- a. The tenure of the scholarship is for one year. Previous recipients may apply if they meet the eligibility criteria.
- b. The scholarship is not tenable with any other scholarship, award, or bursary.

7. Application

Application forms for University of Canterbury applicants are available from the University of Canterbury website, www.canterbury.ac.nz/scholarships.

Completed applications from University of Canterbury students should be lodged with Scholarships Office by 1st March each year:

Scholarships Office Student Services Centre University of Canterbury Christchurch

January 2014; August 2017; January 2019