C. Wright Mills Scholarship in Sociology and Anthropology



Waeture | Regulations

Whakamāramatanga | Key Information

Rā whakamutunga Closing date	1 November
Whaipainga Value	\$3,750
Wā roanga Tenure	Up to 240 points of enrolment
Rahinga ia tau Number available annually	Normally one. ¹
Herenga tika Applicable programmes during tenure	 Thesis period of an MA in Anthropology or Sociology Or PhD in Anthropology or Sociology
Herenga motuhake Special requirements	Applicants must be graduates of an Aotearoa New Zealand university or The University of the South Pacific.

1. Aronga | Purpose

The scholarship supports thesis students in Anthropology or Sociology at Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury.

2. Paearu māraurau | Eligibility criteria

Applicants must be graduates of an Aotearoa New Zealand university or The University of the South Pacific.

3. Tukanga tononga | Application process

Applications must be made online at the Scholarships website² by 1 November.

4. Tukanga kōwhiringa | Selection process

- 4.1 Normally, one scholarship is available annually.¹
- 4.2 The scholarship is awarded by Te Kaunihera | University Council on the recommendation of a selection committee comprising:
 - a. the Tumu Whakarae | Vice-Chancellor (or nominee);
 - b. the Amo Toi Tangata | Dean of Arts (or nominee); and
 - c. the donor (or nominee).

5. Paearu kōwhiringa | Selection criteria

5.1 In making the recommendation(s), the selection committee gives equal consideration to:

a. the nature of the applicant's proposed research for the MA or PhD, or, in the case of an applicant already enrolled in the thesis period of an MA or in a programme for a PhD, quality of progress on the thesis; and

b. potential, current, or past contribution to academic programmes in Anthropology or Sociology.

Financial and/or personal hardship may also be taken into consideration.

5.2 If, in any year, there are fewer candidates of sufficient merit than there are scholarships available, fewer scholarships are offered.

6. Mahere utu | Value and payment schedule

- 6.1 The scholarship provides financial assistance at a value of \$3,750.
- 6.2 The scholarship is paid by direct credit to the recipient's nominated New Zealand bank account on confirmation of enrolment as specified in clause 7.2.

7. Paearu here | Tenability and retention criteria

- 7.1 Every recipient not already enrolled in the thesis period of a programme for an MA in Anthropology or Sociology, or in a programme for a PhD in Anthropology or Sociology, should normally be so enrolled by 31 March in the year following application. A recipient who is unable to enrol by that deadline must seek permission from the Amo Toi Tangata | Dean of Arts to take up the scholarship at a later date. Without this permission the offer of the award is rescinded.
- 7.2 The scholarship is tenable during full-time or part-time enrolment in the thesis period of a programme for an MA by thesis in Anthropology or Sociology, or in a programme for a PhD in Anthropology or Sociology.
- 7.3 Normally, the scholarship is tenable for the period necessary to complete up to 120 points of enrolment. Tenure may be extended for a second 120-points period if funds permit and, in the opinion of the selection committee, the recipient is able to demonstrate, by way of a report submitted by the recipient to the Scholarships Office² by 1 November of the year following application:
 - a. satisfactory progress on their thesis; and
 - b. a beneficial contribution to the academic programmes in Anthropology or Sociology.
 - Extension for a third period of tenure is not possible.
- 7.4 The scholarship is co-tenable with any other award unless the conditions of the other award preclude this.
- 7.5 If, during tenure, the recipient's enrolment no longer meets the conditions specified in clause 7.2, the scholarship may be withdrawn and any paid funds may be recovered.
- 7.6 Continuation of a scholarship is conditional on satisfactory academic progress and adherence to the University's statutes, regulations, policies, and rules.

8. Whakamahuki | Background information

Dr Charles P. Sedgwick established this scholarship in 1985 in memory of Jean Margaretta Rhoda Morgan and Peter Warmsley Sedgwick, and as a tribute to C. Wright Mills, noted American sociologist.

Rā whakaae | Approval date: July 2021 Tuhinga i mua | Previous versions: August 2005 Tohutoro | Reference: 5075/2/25

Pitopito korero | Notes

¹ If, in any year, funds permit, an additional scholarship may be available.

² www.canterbury.ac.nz/scholarships/