Rata Foundation Scholarship


The scholarship was established in 2020 to replace the Canterbury Community Trust Scholarship. The latter had been founded in 1995 by a gift from Trust Bank Canterbury Community Trust. The scholarship supports doctoral students from the regions of the Rata Foundation. One scholarship is available every three years, to candiates from the following colleges in rotation: (1) Arts, (2) Engineering, (3) Science, (4) the remaining colleges together. The scholarship is awarded to the first-ranked candidate in the year of the award who:
a. has a permanent address in one of the four regions of the Rata Foundation;
b. will be studying in the applicable college; and
c. is eligible for a UC Doctoral Scholarship and would not be offered that scholarship. For more information please follow this link.


Candidates must have a permanent address in one of the four regions of the Rata Foundation. They must have completed an appropriate qualification at a level judged to be equivalent to a bachelor's or master's degree with first-class honours at the University of Canterbury (equivalent to a UC GPA of at least 7.0).

$24,500 per annum
3 years
Closing Dates
Application Not Required


No application required only. General (any College). Postgraduate.


While every effort has been made to ensure the above information is current and correct, applicants are advised to check the application forms and regulations for eligibility criteria, scholarship value and tenure, and closing dates.