Professor David Schiel and co-workers

Research Medal

The Research Medal is awarded annually by the University Council. Excellence is most likely to be demonstrated by a sustained record of research of the highest quality or by research of outstanding merit produced over a more limited timeframe.

Recipients can be either a full or part-time member of staff at UC or have been a member of UC staff and who have retired no longer than 12 months.

The Research Medal is presented at a special function and recipients deliver a public lecture. 

Innovation Medal

The Innovation Medal is for the proactive transformation of academic knowledge and ideas leading to their adoption by the wider community.

A maximum of one Innovation Medal is awarded each year. The award is open to all continuing staff or staff who have relinquished a continuing position within the past three years.

Professor Phil Butler - UC Innovation Medal Winner 2018

Internationally respected Physics Professor Phil Butler has been announced as the 2018 recipient of the University of Canterbury (UC) Innovation Medal, the highest award the University can bestow to an outstanding innovator.

Associate Professor Michael Tarren-Sweeney - UC Innovation Medal Winner 2016

"The central key to their recovery is supporting their carers and explaining to their carers why the children do this. Then they slowly do recover over a very long period of time, if the carers are supported properly."

Professor Rick Beatson - UC Innovation Medal Winner 2015

"I am very grateful to the University for this recognition of the applied side of my work, and to the teams at ARANZ Geo and ARANZ Medical for the opportunity to collaborate on so many fascinating real world problems."

Associate Professor Maggie-Lee Huckabee - UC Innovation Medal Winner 2014

"It is an honour to receive this award but I see it not so much as an award for me, but for me and all the clinicians and hospitals who I have worked with, including postgraduate students. The research programme was a group effort."

UC Innovation Medal Winners 2013

Dr Alessandro Palermo and Professors Andy Buchanan and Stefano Pampanin, Civil and Natural Resources Engineering.

Professor Tim Bell – UC Innovation Medal Winner 2011

"When people think about computer science they often equate it with programming, but it's a lot more than that, and it's how to communicate this that got me thinking..."

Professor Keith Alexander – UC Innovation Medal Winner 2010

"I made a pump system for getting gold out of rivers. I liked doing that stuff - although I only found enough gold for a filling, I think."

Early and Emerging Career Researcher Award

The Early and Emerging Career Researcher Award is awarded annually by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Innovation. The Award recognises emerging researchers and their contributions to research.

The nominee must hold a continuing position at UC as Lecturer or Senior Lecturer (including Senior Lecturer above the bar).  Nominees must be within 8 years of academic or research employment.

Recipients are invited to deliver a public lecture.

Kiwinet Awards

The KiwiNet Research Commercialisation Awards is New Zealand’s premier event celebrating the achievements of individuals, teams and organisations actively commercialising publicly funded research.

Research commercialisation is about turning scientific discoveries made at New Zealand’s universities and Crown Research Institutes and Entities into innovative products and services that will grow our economy.

The KiwiNet awards celebrate the entrepreneurial spirit of those who strive to bridge the gap between research excellence and outstanding business leadership.