Local MPs welcomed to UC campus

16 November 2023

Following this year’s General Election, we invited both long-standing and newly elected Members of Parliament to meet members of UC’s leadership team.

  • MPs

    Local MPs Hon Dr Megan Woods, Hon Dr Duncan Webb, Dr Vanessa Weenink, Hamish Campbell, Matt Doocey, Reuben Davidson, Laura Trask and Kahurangi Carter met with Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey, Assistant Vice-Chancellor Engagement Brett Berquist and Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic Catherine Moran at the University of Canterbury in November.

Tumu Whakarae | Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl de la Rey hosted eight local Members of Parliament on Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury (UC)’s Ilam campus on 15 November to share our strategies not just for UC but also for contributing to the growth and success of Waitaha Canterbury. Specifically, the MPs were introduced to UC’s Te Kakau a Māui scholarships and Kia Angitu, our student success programme – the latter offering a range of initiatives to remove barriers and create an environment that gives students the opportunity to thrive and succeed.

MPs also explored our new Digital Screen initiative on the Dovedale campus. With 50% of Aotearoa NZ-employed graduates choosing to live and work in Canterbury, the tour provided a chance for our MPs to witness first-hand the projects that contribute directly to our city's progress.

Coincidentally, Green MP Kahurangi Carter's daughter was on campus for the day participating in Aukaha Tau 10 - an event to help taiohi Māori to be aware of University Entrance-approved NCEA subjects in high school that can lead to tertiary study pathways. With her son having also previously participated, she was excited to share that he is considering UC as a future study option.

COP 28

UC delegation joins COP28 global climate conference

Distinguished Professor Steven Ratuva is leading UC’s first delegation to a UN Conference of Parties (COP) climate change conference in Dubai from 30 ...

Nova Taukamo

Promising future ahead for 168 scholarship winners

For a second year, Te Kakau a Māui scholarships continue to celebrate the diverse talents and aspirations of future young leaders from across Te ...