SELECT student art selection and exhibition

SELECT Art Exhibition 2016

Established in 2009, SELECT is an annual award in which artwork is acquired from final year undergraduate and postgraduate students at the Ilam School of Fine Arts for the University of Canterbury Art Collection. Works acquired are chosen by an external guest judge and the artists receive NZ$2000 each for selected works.

Select is coordinated by the UC Art Acquisitions Committee, which, since its inception in 1988, has been purchasing art works of a contemporary nature. These acquisitions aim to enhance the cultural and intellectual environment of the University whilst playing an integral role in teaching as an engaging primary resource. For the Art Acquisitions Committee, SELECT is an annual highlight. A concise, yet varied sample, it provides an appetiser into the future of contemporary arts practice and the potentiality of many students featured, who in previous years have gone on to enjoy distinguished careers both in New Zealand and abroad. SELECT is a major opportunity for final year students from all disciplines to share their refined ideas and insights into current fine arts practice with the prospect of representation in a major public collection.

Previous years' acquisitions

  • Blue Monday Collective
  • Winifred Ogilvie Whyte
  • Emma Kevern

Guest Judge: Christina Barton, Director of the Adam Art Gallery, Victoria University

  • Oliver Dawe
  • Abbigail Meakin
  • Donna-Marie Patterson

Guest Judge: Simon Rees, Director at the Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth

  • Melissa Macleod
  • Mikaela Marshall
  • Hannah Watkinson

Guest Judge: Dr Zara Stanhope, Principal Curator at the Auckland Art Gallery

  • Sophie Bannan
  • Erinn Keith
  • Olivia Chamberlain

Guest Judge: Aaron Kreisler, Curator of the Dunedin Public Art Gallery

  • Jon Jeet
  • Clara Wells
  • Barry/Holly

Guest Judge: Dr. Lara Strongman, Independent Curator and Writer

  • Lana Burtenshaw
  • Makoto Takuoko
  • Rachael Dewhirst

Guest judge: Linda Tyler, Director of the Centre for New Zealand Art and Discovery and Director of the Gus Fisher Gallery, University of Auckland.

  • Adrienne Milwood
  • Joshua O'Rourke
  • Charlotte Watson

Guest judge: Justin Paton, Senior Curator at Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna O Waiwhetu.

  • Anna Holloway
  • Paul McLachlan
  • Rosa Scott
  • Alison Staniland

Guest judge: Elizabeth Caldwell, Director of the Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

  • Michelle Ah Kuoi
  • Lucy Faull
  • Ed Lust
  • Tia Parker

Guest judge: Jenny Harper, Director of the Christchurch Public Art Gallery Te Puna O Waiwhetu.