Law for Change UC

Is a faculty law club which is passionate about public interest law, that is, legal practice in the service of otherwise unrepresented or under-represented people or interests. This covers many areas, such as access to justice, environmental issues, criminal defence, human rights, law and social policy, etc.

Membership is optional, free and is available to all students. 

Club objectives/ Kaupapa

Our kaupapa (purpose and guiding principle) is: “To empower young New Zealanders to use their legal skills in the public interest”

We seek to build and strengthen the public interest law community in New Zealand, by:

  • Motivating young lawyers to work in public interest law
  • Showcasing public interest pathways
  • Uniting like-minded individuals committed to public interest law
  • Sparking further debate about the role of lawyers in our society.

Events and activities

Law for Change UC organises and coordinates several functions and activities for members throughout the year.

2020 Law for Change UC Executive

President
Jessica Macdonald
president@lawforchange.org.nz

Vice President
Henrietta Harper
vice.president@lawforchange.org.nz

Treasurer
Emily McElrea
treasurer@lawforchange.org.nz

Secretary
Asher Herrman
secretary@lawforchange.org.nz

Events Officer
Georgia Lund
events@lawforchange.org.nz

Events Officer
Maddie Story
events@lawforchange.org.nz

Events Officer
Katie Jeffs
events@lawforchange.org.nz

Prison Project Coordinator
Sarah Flett
projects.coordinator@lawforchange.org.nz

Prison Project Coordinator
Liesel Seybold
projects.coordinator@lawforchange.org.nz

Media and Communications Coordinator
Maddy Berquist
communications.coordinator@lawforchange.org.nz

Community Law Coordinator
Phoebe McCaughan
volunteer.coordinator@lawforchange.org.nz

 

 

Find out more

You can also email us at canterbury@lawforchange.org.nz 

 

Postal address:
C/- School of Law
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800 
Christchurch
New Zealand