Electrical and Computer Engineering Contacts

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Telephone +64 3 369 3366 

Admin and staff: Level 5 and 3 Link Building, Private Bag 4800, Christchurch 8020, New Zealand

Teaching labs: Electrical and Computer Engineering Wing, enter from the Core (main entrance, Creyke Road)


Head of Department

Paul Gaynor

Associate Professor
Head of Department
Link Rm 506
Internal Phone: 94346

Alan Wood

Associate Professor
Deputy Head of Department
Link Rm 507
Internal Phone: 94433

Administrative Staff

Leigh Brook

Department Administrator (Undergraduate)
Link 505
Internal Phone: 90623

Deborah Erueti

Postgraduate Administrator
Link Rm 505
Internal Phone: 94652

Directors of Studies

Phil Bones

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Link Rm 503
Internal Phone: 94304

Maan Alkaisi

EEE First Professional Year Coordinator
Link Rm 509
Internal Phone: 94242

Andrew Lapthorn

Senior Lecturer
EEE 2nd Pro Coordinator
Link Rm 307
Internal Phone: 94546

Neville Watson

EEE Third Professional Year Coordinator
Link Rm 515
Internal Phone: 94542

Richard Clare

Senior Lecturer
Co-Director of Mechatronics, Director of Studies – Mechatronics 2nd Pro Year
Link Rm 511
Internal Phone: 93721

Michael Hayes

Associate Professor
On sabbatical semester one 2019
Link Rm 504
Internal Phone: 94541

Steve Weddell

Senior Lecturer
Director of Computer Engineering
Link Rm 510
Internal Phone: 94419

Christopher Hann

Senior Lecturer
Director of Postgraduate Studies
Link Rm 502
Internal Phone: 94305

Technical Services Manager

Jac Woudberg

Technical Services Manager
Electrical Wing 108a
Internal Phone: 93754