CSSE Seminars

Seminars are presented at least once a week during the academic year, by staff, students and visitors to the Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering. Everyone is welcome to attend. 

Seminars Information

Please send an email to organiser Dr Fabian Gilson to arrange a seminar. 

2018 Seminar Series

Time/DateSpeakerTalk TitleLocation
Wed, 14 Nov 2018 10:00:00 NZDT
Simon Yusuf-Enoch
Dynamic Cybersecurity Modelling and Analysis
Jack Erskine 340
Thu, 18 Oct 2018 16:00:00 NZDT
Carola Fellenz Thompson
Design Education for CS and SE students - or - What on earth are you teaching in COSC368, Carola?
Jack Erskine 240
Wed, 19 Sep 2018 12:00:00 NZST
Prof. Armin Zimmermann.
Modelling and Simulation for Systems Engineering of Stochastic Discrete-Event Systems
Jack Erskine 340
Thu, 16 Aug 2018 14:00:00 NZST
Professor Sungdeok (Steve) Cha
A Paradigm Shift for the CAPTCHA race, and its application towards more robust authentication mechanism
Jack Erskine 340
Thu, 26 Jul 2018 13:00:00 NZST
Professor Ljiljana Brankovic
Gamification of STEM courses: What Works and How to Do it
Jack Erskine 340
Thu, 14 Jun 2018 10:00:00 NZST
Dr Steve Mills
Four- and Seven-Point Relative Pose from Oriented Features
Jack Erskine 340
Tue, 15 May 2018 15:00:00 NZST
Dr. K. Khorasani
Protection and Survivable Control of Cyber-Physical-Social Systems (CPSS) Against Malicious Attacks and Adversary Intrusions
Jack Erskine 340
Tue, 24 Apr 2018 14:00:00 NZST
Christoph Treude
Repacking software artifacts to bridge the gap between documentation authors and readers
Erskine 101
Wed, 18 Apr 2018 11:00:00 NZST
Krys Pawlikowski
Pseudorandom Number Generators for Scientific Computing in the 21st century
Erskine 340
Wed, 07 Feb 2018 10:00:00 NZDT
Caitlin Duncan
Development of Computational Thinking, through Computer Science and programming, and its benefits for primary school students.
Erskine 240

Seminars in 2017

Time/DateSpeakerTalk TitleLocation
Fri, 24 Nov 2017 13:00:00 NZDT
Robert Schattschneider
Underwater reconstruction and localisation for ship hull inspection
Erskine 315
Wed, 15 Nov 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Elora Walmisley
Human Movement Identification with Arduino Sensors
Erskine 111
Thu, 09 Nov 2017 13:00:00 NZDT
Benny Chor
Teaching Computer Science in the Community
Erskine 315
Tue, 10 Oct 2017 10:00:00 NZDT
Dr. Paul Wagner
From POGIL to Flipped Classrooms: Current Trends in Computer Science Education
Erskine 315
Fri, 16 Jun 2017 10:00:00 NZST
Ben Daniel
The Paradigm of Big Data in Educational Research: iMethod and Learning Analytics
Erskine 315
Thu, 15 Jun 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Associate Dean Tanja Mitrovic
Supporting Constructive Video-Based Learning: Requirements Elicitation from Exploratory Studies
Erskine 315
Fri, 05 May 2017 10:00:00 NZST
Bastian Wollschlaeger Scientific Researcher at the Chair for Technical Information Systems
Automated Design of Building Automation Systems: Overview and Research Problems
Erskine 315
Tue, 28 Feb 2017 10:00:00 NZDT
Prof. Carsten Felden
From Self Service Discovery, Data Preparation to Data Story Telling: the Swiss Army End User
Erskine 315

Seminars in 2016

Time/DateSpeakerTalk TitleLocation
Fri, 02 Dec 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Prof. Phuoc Tran-Gia and Valentin Burger
Network Virtualization and performance issues
Erskine 315.
Fri, 25 Nov 2016 14:00:00 NZDT
Jun Wang
The State of the Art of Neurodynamic Optimization: Past, Present, and Prospect
Erskine 315.
Tue, 22 Nov 2016 10:00:00 NZDT
Paul Tymann
The Changing Face of Computing Education
Erskine 315.
Thu, 06 Oct 2016 13:00:00 NZDT
Paul Wagner
Developing New Relational Database Operators for Complex Data Analysis
Erskine 111.
Tue, 16 Aug 2016 13:00:00 NZST
David Bowes
When is a Software Defect not a Defect? Different Classifiers Find Different Defects although with Different Level of Consistency
Erskine 315.
Tue, 02 Aug 2016 13:00:00 NZST
Christian Esposito
Reliable and Timely Event Notification over Wide Area Networks
Erskine 315.
Fri, 13 May 2016 10:15:00 NZST
Amir Moravejosharieh
PhD oral exam: Mitigating the Impact of Mutual Interference in IEEE 802.15.4-based Wireless Body Sensor Networks
Erskine 121.
Thu, 09 Jun 2016 14:00:00 NZST
Jalel Ben-Othman
DoS in VANETs an issue or a fatality?
Erskine 315.
Tue, 03 May 2016 15:00:00 NZST
Tim Bell
Gradescope: Gamify your exam marking!
Erskine 315.
Mon, 26 Dec 2016 09:00:00 NZDT
Musibau Ibrahim
Multifractal Techniques for Image Analysis and Classification with Applications to Emphysema Databases
Erskine 315.
Thu, 31 Mar 2016 14:00:00 NZDT
Tanja Mitrovic and Moffat Mathews
Computer-based post-stroke rehabilitation of prospective memory
Erskine 315.
Thu, 17 Mar 2016 16:00:00 NZDT
Jakob Eriksson
Tracking your every move - today and tomorrow
Erskine 315.
Tue, 08 Mar 2016 15:00:00 NZDT
Philipp Diebold
Agile Capability Analysis - How to select the right degree of "Agility"
Erskine 315.
Tue, 16 Feb 2016 10:00:00 NZDT
Prof. Shimon Schocken
From Nand to Tetris: Building a Modern Computer from First Principles
Erskine 315.