The Degree of Doctor of Science (DSc)

These regulations must be read in conjunction with the General Regulations for the University.

1. Version

These Regulations came into force on 1 January 2018.

2. Variations

In exceptional circumstances the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research may approve a variation of these Regulations.

3. The structure of the qualification

To qualify for the Doctor of Science, a student must:

- (a) submit a portfolio of works, as prescribed by the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research; and
- (b) have been approved for the qualification by the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research in consultation with the Amo Matua, Pūtaiao | Executive Dean of Science following examination of the portfolio.

4. Admission to the qualification

To apply for admission to the Doctor of Science, a student must:

- (a) hold a master's degree or doctorate; and
- (b) have at least 15 years of research experience following graduation; and
- (c) where a student does not hold a degree of Te Whare Wananga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury, they will have at least 5 years of research experience associated with Te Whare Wananga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury.

5. Subjects

The subject(s) of this qualification include original contributions in one or more branches of Science.

6. Time limits

There is no time limit for this qualification.

7. Transfers of credit, substitutions and cross-credits

There will be no transfer of credit or cross-crediting of work.

8. Progression

This qualification adheres to the General Regulations for the University, with the following stipulations:

- (a) Work submitted for consideration of a higher doctorate at Te Whare Wānanga o Waitaha | University of Canterbury cannot be reconsidered for the degree unless more than 5 years have elapsed since the last submission and the resubmission includes new material.
- (b) Any resubmission will require readmission.

9. Honours, Distinction and Merit

Honours, Distinction and Merit are not awarded for this qualification.

10. Exit and Upgrade Pathways to other Qualifications

There are no advancing or exit qualifications for this qualification.

11. Examination process

- (a) An ad-hoc committee will be appointed by the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research of no fewer than three persons recommended by the Amo Matua, Pūtaiao | Executive Dean of Science to assess the eligibility of the submitted portfolio for examination.
- (b) The ad-hoc committee must submit a report to the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research of its findings and must recommend names of suitable independent Examiners.

- (c) The Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research will determine whether to proceed with the examination.
- (d) The portfolio is then submitted to three independent Examiners, of whom at least one must reside outside of Aotearoa New Zealand.
- (e) The Examiners will follow a process prescribed by the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research. This will specify the requirements to assess the portfolio's original contribution of special excellence to the subject and of the student's authoritative standing and international eminence in their field.
- (f) The Examiners must provide a recommendation to the Amo Rangahau | Dean of Postgraduate Research on the eligibility of the qualification being awarded.