UC Teaching Medal

UC teaching medal


The Teaching Medal is the University's highest award for teaching excellence.

The University of Canterbury Teaching Medal is awarded from time to time in recognition of an outstanding and sustained contribution to teaching in the University. Nominees will be expected to produce a Teaching Portfolio in support of their application, with assistance from their nominator.

 The medal criteria are:

  •  sustained and outstanding teaching excellence and
  •  leadership in wider teaching and learning. This wider leadership should be either across the University (rather than in one discipline), nationally and/or internationally. Leadership may be in the form of innovation in teaching and teaching research, fostering colleagues' development, communication and support of good practice, and development in teaching.

It is usually expected that nominees will have already received a University Teaching Award or College Teaching Award and/or UCSA Lecturer or Supervisor of the Year Award prior to their nomination for a Teaching Medal.

Nomination forms are available on the Academic Quality Team intranet site.   



Previous Recipients

Ben Kennedy (2019)

Location: Geological Sciences

Jon Harding (2018)

Location: Dean of Postgraduate Research

Ekant Veer (2017)

Location: Department of Management, Marketing, and Entrepreneurship

Herb de Vries (2015)

Location: Department of Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship

Ursula Cheer (2015)

Location: School of Law

Paul Ballantine (2014)

Location: Department of Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship

Eric Pawson (2013)

Location: Department of Geography

Richard Hartshorn (2009)

Location: Department of Chemistry

Roger Nokes (2008)

Location: Department of Civil and Natural Resources Engineering

Tim Bell (2007)

Location: Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering

Kon Kuiper (2004)

Location: School of Classics and Linguistics

John Burrows (2002)

Location: School of Law