Blues Awards - UC Sport - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Blues Awards

University of Canterbury Blues Awards are a celebration of students who have excelled in sport, arts and community engagement.

Blues are awarded to UC students for achieving appropriate sporting standards, and are named after the traditional sporting competitions
between the two original ‘blues’ Oxford and Cambridge.

While a Blues Award has traditionally been a sporting accolade, there are now three categories of the award at the University of Canterbury- Sport, Arts and Community.

Just a few of the notable athletes who have achieved these awards in recent years are Sophie Devine (White Fern/Blackstick), Georgia Groen (Barefoot Water Skiing World Champion), Pippa Hawyward (Blackstick), Bridget Kiddle (Blackstick), Rachel McCann (Blackstick), Angie Petty (Track & Field), Kieran Read (All Black), Natalie Rooney (NZ Trap Shooter), Luke Whitelock (All Black).

2017 Blues Award Winners


Name Sport
Adam Hillis Hockey
Angie Petty Athletics 
Ben Scott Powerlifting
Braydon Ennor Rugby Union
Bridget Kiddle Hockey
Cass Engler Rugby Sevens & Touch Rugby
Charntay Poko Rugby League & Rugby Union
Gabi Steer  Underwater Hockey 
George Howat Rowing
Iona Young Hockey
Jason Hursthouse Hockey
Jessie Hansen Rugby Union
Kaveinga Finau Rugby Union
Kaylee Tavendale Rugby Union
Kiri Atkin Triathlon
Laura Glen Rowing
Libby Bird Hockey
Madeline Davidson Trampolining
Margot Willis Hockey
Matthew Butterfield Volleyball
Matthew Mesman Rowing
Nick Haworth Football  (soccer)
Nick Healy Underwater Hockey
Nicole Purdom Rugby Union
Olivia McGoverne Rugby Union
Ollie Jones Road Cycling
Phoebe Stallmann Underwater Hockey
Roddy Lockhart Football  (soccer)
Sam Godwin Rugby Union
Sean Liddicoat Football  (soccer)
Sian Goodall Hockey 
Sophie Williams  Futsal
Texas Toleafoa Rugby League
Tom Mackintosh Rowing
Tom McGowan Futsal
Whitney Hepburn Football  (soccer)
Tayla Bruce  Lawn Bowls

Sports Person of the Year - Tayla Bruce


Ashley Perry
Ashley Stewart
Caitlin Jane Clarke
Clarissa Robert Jeyakumar
Daniel Cooper
Hamish Petersen
John Richardson
Maia Abraham
Sarah Sonal
Lewis Gibson 
Lee Richardson 
Vaea Peterson

Outstanding Achievement in Dance- Lewis Gibson

Outstanding Contribution to Fine Arts at UC- Lee Richardson

Outstanding Achievement in the Arts- Vaea Peterson


Anumeya Chandra 
Ashley Stuart 
Clarissa Robert Jeyakumar
Hamish Johnston
Isabelle Smith
Jared McMahon
Jeff Willis 
Kaitlyn White
Kendra Burgess-Naude
Kestrel Ritchie
Luke Campbell
Richard Gresson

Outstanding Contribution to Sustainability- Jeff Willis

Outstanding Contribution to the Canterbury Community- Anumeya Chandra

Outstanding Achievement in Community Engagement- Ashley Stuart