Seminars

Time/DateSpeakerTalk TitleLocation
Fri, 12 Jan 2018 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Christoph Bergmann
Exoplanetary Science with Veloce Rosso at the AAT
Rutherford Room 531, level 5
Fri, 10 Nov 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Henry Wai Chau
Key challenges faced with physics in soils
Rutherford Room 531,Level 5.
Thu, 26 Oct 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Dimitrie Culcer
A single-atom spin-orbit system for computing applications
Room 531, Rutherford Building
Fri, 06 Oct 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Eyal Schwartz, Postdoctoral Fellow
Single atoms dynamics in tight optical tweezers
Room 531, level 5, Rutherford Building
Fri, 29 Sep 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Howard J. Carmichael
A Tale of Tiny Photons and Quantum Jumps
Rutherford Room 531, level 5
Fri, 22 Sep 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Anna McLeod
Tracing feedback in massive star-forming regions with integral field spectroscopy
Rutherford Room 531
Fri, 15 Sep 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Prof. Craig J. Rodger
And then the Sun went "Bang": An overview of Space Weather research
Rutherford Room 531
Fri, 25 Aug 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Ben Mallett
Superconducting Sandwiches
Room 531, Level 5, Rutherford Building
Fri, 18 Aug 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Laura Revell
Modelling the interactions between atmospheric chemistry and climate
Rutherford Room 351
Fri, 11 Aug 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Clare Worley
The challenges of chemically mapping the Milky Way in the era of large scale spectroscopic stellar surveys
Rutherford Room 531
Fri, 04 Aug 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Paul Groot, Erskine Visitor
The BlackGEM array for Gravitational wave counterparts
Room 531, Level 5, Rutherford Building
Fri, 28 Jul 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Dr John Campbell, Adjunct Fellow
Rocketman - The Story of William H Pickering
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 21 Jul 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Tobias Maerkl
Growth and Characterisation of Topological Insulator Nanostructures with Scanning Tunneling Microscopy.
Rutherford Building, Level 5, Room 531
Fri, 16 Jun 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Associate Professor Tom Maccarone
Black hole and neutron stars in globular clusters
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 02 Jun 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Willem van Straten
Radio Pulsars and Gravitational Wave Detectors
Rutherford 531
Fri, 26 May 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Randolph C Grace
From Psychophysics to Artificial Algebra: Is Mathematics Embedded in Our Perception of the World?
Rutherford 531
Fri, 19 May 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Richard de Grijs
Not-so-simple stellar populations in nearby, resolved massive star clusters
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 12 May 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Peter Jarvis
Fierz reformulation of the Einstein-Dirac Equations
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 05 May 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Lieza Vanden Broeke
UC, Medical Physics student working with the MARS (Spectral Molecular Imaging group
Title and abstract to be advised.
Fri, 07 Apr 2017 11:00:00 NZST
Poul Christoffersen
Physics of fast flowing glaciers
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 31 Mar 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Associate Professor G. Mackay Salley
Walking the Line: Research and Teaching at a Liberal Arts College
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 24 Mar 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Professor Jean-Paul Tavernet
The sky through the H.E.S.S. eyes: a ground-based gamma-ray astronomy experiment
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 17 Mar 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Mark Aartsen Research Associate with Assoc. Prof Jenni Adams group, Physics & Astronomy, University of Canterbury
A New Window on the Universe – Investigating Cosmic Ray Sources with the IceCube Neutrino Observatory
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 03 Mar 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Anna L. Garden
From Fertilisers to Fuels– A Computational Approach to Heterogeneous Catalysis
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 24 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Prof Dave Frame
Climate Change Research
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 17 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Professor Toshi Futamase
Subaru Weak lensing Survey of Dark Matter Subhalos in the Coma cluster
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Mon, 20 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Andrew J. Mayne
Molecular Electronics: Atomic-scale studies of molecules on surfaces
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 10 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Assistant Professor Guang Bian
Exploring Fundamental Physics in Topological Phases of Condensed Matter
Rutherford Building Room 531, Level 5
Tue, 07 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Henry Snaith
Fri, 03 Feb 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Jonathan Squire
Magnetised turbulence and the nonlinear dynamics of Alfvén waves in weakly collisional plasmas
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 18 Nov 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Keith Murdoch, Ph.D., Registered Patent Agent, Director of Intellectual Property Coherent Inc.
Intellectual Property and Patenting
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Thu, 17 Nov 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr David J. Garrett
Carbon Biomaterials at the Interface between Electronics and the Human Nervous System
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Thu, 10 Nov 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Prof Trevor Derry
Ion Implantation Research at WITS University
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 28 Oct 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Associate Professor Owen Curnow
Department Housekeeping Seminar - Health & Safety and Library Matters
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 07 Oct 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Nathalie Derulle
Black holes as a tool to understand gravity
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 30 Sep 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Assoc Prof Bronwyn Hayward
Understanding the politics of a 1.5 degree global warming ambition: Reflections from the IPCC special report meeting
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 23 Sep 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Cheng Yang Lee
The physics of spin: From the Wigner rotation to neutrino oscillations
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Wed, 21 Sep 2016 14:00:00 NZST
Professor Hirofumi Tanaka
Electric properties of single-walled carbon nanotube and nanoparticle random network for neuron-like signal generation
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 16 Sep 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Professor Luis Seijo, joint visiting Erskine visitor (with Professor Zoila Barandiaran)
Ab initio calculations on excited states of lanthanide containing materials
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 09 Sep 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Associate Professor Nick Tsamis
Classical Gravitational Back-Reaction
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 19 Aug 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Professor George Ellis, a visiting Erskine Fellow
The nature of time and the evolving block universe
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 12 Aug 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Professor George Ellis, a visiting Erskine Fellow (see above for biography).
Testability in cosmology: can we prove a multiverse exists?
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Sat, 13 Aug 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Sam Dean, Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards
Using Climate Models to Understand Climate Variability and Change
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Wed, 13 Jul 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Andrew Gettelman
The Physics of Clouds and Climate
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 22 Jul 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Saurab Bose
Let's do ABC (Artificial Brain Creation)
Rutherford Room 531, Level 5
Mon, 13 Jun 2016 10:00:00 NZST
Dr Nicolas Crouzet
Detection and characterization of transiting exoplanets: from gas giants to habitable worlds
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Wed, 01 Jun 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Simone Scaringi
One (disk) ring to rule them all: linking accretion from protostars to supermassive black holes
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Fri, 27 May 2016 10:00:00 NZST
Dr. Duncan Wright,
The future of exoplanet research: discovery, characterisation, habitability and life?
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Wed, 18 May 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr David Frew
The Life and Death of Intermediate-mass Stars
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Fri, 13 May 2016 11:00:00 NZST
Dr Matthew Hughes
Signs of Life? Reflections on planetary habitability and the responsibilities of young galactic civilisations
Room 701, Level 7, Rutherford Building
Sat, 01 Apr 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Jevon Longdell
The application of cryogenic rare earth ion dopants for quantum information and biomedical imaging
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Kasper van Wijk
Sampling heterogeneous media with scattered wavelengths that range from millimetres to kilometres
Rutherford 701, Level 7
Fri, 11 Mar 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Neil Broderick
Mode-locked fibre lasers for fun and profit
Rutherford 701, Level 5
Mon, 07 Mar 2016 19:30:00 NZDT
Professor David Wiltshire
Public Lecture: Black holes making waves around the Universe
Lecture theatre C1, University of Canterbury, Christchurch
Fri, 04 Mar 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Professor Elizabeth Winstanley
Black hole bombs: hairy black holes as possible end-points of superradiant instabilities
Room 701, Level 7, Rutherford Building
Fri, 26 Feb 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Ra Inta, Postdoctoral Scholar
Gravitational waves: a new era in astrophysics
Room 531, Level 5, Rutherford Building
Fri, 12 Feb 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Professor Marcelo Gleiser
Emergent Complexity in the Universe: An Information-Entropic Approach
Rutherford 531, Level 5
Fri, 15 Jan 2016 11:00:00 NZDT
Dr Sarah Kessans
Testing the limits of the human spirit: my adventures in ocean rowing and how they have helped make me a better scientist
Room 531, Level 5, Chemistry side of the Rutherford Building