Geological Sciences contacts

Please note: Our academic staff and administrators have moved to the 3rd floor of the Rutherford Building. Many also have new phone numbers. Our general staff and laboratories are still on level 1 and 2 of the von Haast Building.

Geological Sciences

Level 3
Rutherford Building
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140
New Zealand

Phone: +64 3 369 4384

Administrative staff

Rebekah Hunt

Rutherford 310
Internal Phone: 94384

Janet Warburton

Rutherford 310
Internal Phone: 94383

Academic staff

Catherine Reid

Head of Department
Senior Lecturer
Rutherford 312B
Internal Phone: 94438

Paul Ashwell

Senior Tutor
Rutherford 312A
Internal Phone: 94544

Kari Bassett

Senior Lecturer
Sedimentology & Basin Analysis
Rutherford 330
Internal Phone: 94495

Sarah Beaven

Rutherford Rm 315
Internal Phone: 95992

David Bell

Senior Lecturer
Engineering & Mining Geology
Rutherford Rm 327
Internal Phone: 94490

Jim Cole

Research Associate
Volcanology & Volcanic Hazards
Rutherford 322
Internal Phone: 94492

Tim Davies

Natural Hazards
Rutherford 322
Internal Phone: 94508

Clark Fenton

Engineering Geology
Rutherford 320
Internal Phone: 94439

Darren Gravley

Senior Lecturer
Volcanology and Geothermal Systems
Rutherford 319
Internal Phone: 94489

Samuel Hampton

Rutherford 319
Internal Phone: 94502

Travis Horton

Associate Professor
Environmental Geochemistry
Rutherford 318
Internal Phone: 94386

Ben Kennedy

Associate Professor
Physical Volcanology
Rutherford 321
Internal Phone: 94437

Andy Nicol

Structural Geology
Rutherford 314
Internal Phone: 94436

Alex Nichols

Rutherford Rm 321
Internal Phone: 94410

Katherine Pedley

Senior Tutor
Rutherford 312A
Internal Phone: 94378

Jarg Pettinga

Engineering and Structural Geology
Rutherford 314
Internal Phone: 94491

Marlene Villeneuve

Senior Lecturer
Engineering Geology
Rutherford 321
Internal Phone: 94497

Thomas Wilson

Associate Professor
Disaster Risk and Resilience
Rutherford 326
Internal Phone: 94503

Postdoctoral fellows

Narges Khajavi

Rutherford 315
Internal Phone: 94773

Lauren Schaefer

Rutherford Rm 315
Internal Phone: 95969

Technical staff

Sacha Baldwin

Geological Sciences
Internal Phone: 94837

Catherine Brown

Von Haast 202
Internal Phone: 95337

Stephen Brown

Internal Phone: 95985

Matt Cockcroft

Geomorphology Technician
Departmental Safety Officer
von Haast 103
Internal Phone: 95901

Chris Grimshaw

Sedimentology & Palaeontology
Departmental Health & Safety Representative
Von Haast 219A
Internal Phone: 92054

Cathy Higgins

Engineering Geology
Geology 108A
Internal Phone: 95023

Sarah Pope

Engineering Geology
Internal Phone: 95022

Rob Spiers

Petrology & Cosmogenics
Geology 106
Internal Phone: 95950

John Southward

Electronics & Computing
Rutherford 321B
Internal Phone: 94364

Anekant Wandres

Von Haast 103
Internal Phone: 94515

Carol Stewart

GNS Science/Massey University

Greg Browne

Institute of Geological & Nuclear Sciences

James Pope

Rutherford 315

Joshu Mountjoy


Mac Beggs

Elemental Group

Mauri McSaveney

Institute of Geological & Nuclear Sciences

Paul Scofield

Canterbury Museum

Research associates and affiliated staff

John Bradshaw

Rutherford 317
Internal Phone: 94493

Margaret Bradshaw

Rutherford 317
Internal Phone: 94496

David Shelley

Associate Professor (retired)
Rutherford 317

Mike Finnemore

Southern Geophysical Ltd

Erskine Fellows

A bequest by former distinguished student John Angus Erskine enables some 70 Visiting Erskine Fellowships to be awarded each year for international visitors to give lectures. The Geological Sciences department hosts many distinguished Erskine Fellows. A full and up-to-date list of past and present Erskine visitors is available on the Erskine Fellowship pages.