Chemistry Olympiad

  • Chemistry Olympiad 2016 team in Vietnam

    The 2014 New Zealand team: Victor Xie, Mark Yep, Ross Shillito and Isari Masuda.

The annual Chemistry Olympiad is an international chemistry competition for teams of four young people from around the world. The New Zealand team is selected, trained and coordinated as a collaboration between the Universities of Canterbury and Auckland. 

The 2017 Olympiad will be the 49th and is to be held in July in Thailand.

Selection of a training group is made around November of the previous year. The selection is based upon performance in a selection test held at the end of October, or the beginning of November. The selection test assumes knowledge of only Year 12 (NCEA Level 2) Chemistry.

During term one, the training group will undergo a programme which includes reading material, problem assignments and a test in early March. From the test, 30 students are chosen in mid-March for a training camp to be held in the April school break. 

To be eligible, students must be under 20 and not intending to attend University in 2017. Students must have been attending a New Zealand school for at least two years prior to July 2017. Any student who attended the 2016 NZCHO training camp in April, and still meets the other criteria, will get automatic selection to the training group. They will still need to register their interest.

The New Zealand Chemistry Olympiad Trust is a member of the Science Olympianz Association.

To enter the Olympiad, registration must be received by October 2017.

The teacher in charge must register online including the names of any students who meet the above criteria. The test papers will be sent to this teacher who will have responsibility for administering the test.

Each student must also register. Students must pay an entry fee of $30 by direct credit into: ANZ account of the New Zealand Chemistry Olympiad Trust: 06-0665-0133836-00 (you MUST include your name in the details).

Team 2016: Tbilisi, Georgia

Name  Position  Education Medal
 Ellena Black   Team   St Andrew’s College, Christchurch  
 Lucas Lee  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Edward Liu  Team   Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Ben Zhang  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 William Wang  Reserve  King’s College, Auckland Bronze
 Dr Duncan McGillivray Mentors  University of Auckland  
 Dr Andrew (Buck) Rogers Mentors  St Peter’s College  


Team 2015: Baku, Azerbaijan

Name  Position  Education Medal
 Hugo Brown  Team   St Paul's Collegiate, Hamilton Bronze
 Brianna Nally  Team  James Hargest High School Bronze
 Thomas Chang  Team   Auckland Grammar Schoo Bronze
 David Kim  Team  Macleans College, Auckland Bronze
 Sam Frengley  Reserve  St Peter's School, Cambridge  
 Dr Jan Giffney Mentors  St Cuthbert's College  
 Dr Sheila Woodgate Mentors  University of Auckland
 Dr Allick Lal Observer  Macleans College


For all enquiries contact: