University leaders

The following leaders are responsible for the overall management of UC.

Senior Management Team

See the Senior Management Team page.

Heads of academic schools and departments NameAppointment
Accounting and Information Systems Associate Professor Beverley Lord 24.05.16 - 31.03.17
Aotahi: Māori and Indigenous Studies (School) Sacha McMeeking 29.06.15 - 23.06.20
Biological Sciences (School) Professor Matthew Turnbull 14.06.14 - 13.06.17
Business and Economics Professor Paul Ballantine 17.10.16 - 08.04.17
Chemical and Process Engineering Associate Professor Peter Gostomski 01.01.05 - 31.12.18
Chemistry Professor Mike Reid 01.05.15 - 28.02.17
Civil and Natural Resources Engineering Professor Mark Davidson 01.01.13 - 31.12.17
Communication Disorders Associate Professor Katharina Naswall 17.10/16 - 08.04.17
Computer Science and Software Engineering Associate Professor Austen Rainer 01.12.15 - 30.11.20
Economics and Finance Associate Professor Richard Watt 01.01.16 - 31.12.16
Educational Studies and Leadership (School) Associate Professor Anneliese Kamp 01.01.13 - 01.01.16
Electrical and Computer Engineering Associate Professor Paul Gaynor 01.03.17 - 01.03.18
Fine Arts (School) - School of Humanities & Creative Arts Associate Professor Aaron Kreisler  
Forestry (School) Professor Bruce Manley 01.12.06 - 30.11.20
Geography Associate Professor Peyman Zawar-Reza 21.03.16 - 15.03.19
Geological Sciences Dr Catherine Reid 14.03.16 - 15.03.19
Health Sciences (School) Professor Michael Robb 01.01.15 - 31.12.20
Humanities & Creative Arts (School) Professor Paul Millar 01.01.13 - 31.12.17
Language, Social & Political Sciences (School) Professor Beth Hume 01.01.13 - 31.12.17
Law (School) Professor Karen Scott 30.09.15 - 31.12.18
Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship Associate Professor Venkataraman Nilakant   
Mathematics and Statistics (School) Professor Jennifer Brown 01.07.09 - 30.06.19
Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Shayne Gooch 01.01.17 - 01.03.18
Music (School) - School of Humanities & Creative Arts Associate Professor Glenda Keam  
Product Design (School) Professor Conan Fee 06.03.17 - 05.03.22
Psychology Associate Professor Katharina Naswall 08.10.16 - 08.04.17
Physics and Astronomy Professor Mike Reid 01.01.13 - 28.02.17
Sport and Physical Education (School) Professor Richard Light 01.01.13 - 01.01.18
Teacher Education (School) Professor Letitia Fickel 01.01.13 - 01.01.18
Heads of service unitsNameAppointment
Student Services and Communications Ms Lynn McClelland Executive Director
Financial Services Keith Longden Executive Director
Human Resources Mr Paul O'Flaherty Executive Director
Learning Resources Ms Alex Hanlon Executive Director
Other heads and directorsNameAppointment
Canterbury University Press Lynn McClelland Executive Director
Centre for Evaluation and Monitoring (CEM) Dr John Boereboom Director
Early Childhood Learning Centre Ms Cassandra Yeo Manager
EPECentre Position currently vacant Director
Executive Development Programme (EDP) Dave Shearer Director
Gateway Antarctica Professor Bryan Storey Director
Geospatial Research Institute Wayne Tyson Manager
Health Centre Joan Allardyce Medical Director
HITLab NZ Ken Beckman Director
Macmillan Brown Centre Professor Steven Ratuva Director
National Centre for Research on Europe Professor Martin Holland Director
NZILBB Professor Jen Hay Director
Research & Innovation Dr Maxine Bryant

Mr Bill Lee
Acting Director Research Services

Commercial Director
UC Education Plus Wayne Bonnett Director
UC Quake Centre Robert Finch Director
University Hall Mr Ian Brown Head
Centre for Risk, Resilience & Renewal (UCR3) Professor Tim Davies Director
Waterways Centre for Freshwater Management Professor Jenny Webster-Brown Director
Wireless Research Centre / Spatial Engineering Research Centre Fred Samandari Director
Commerce Dr Ross James  
Education Associate Professor Julie Mackey  
Engineering Dean (Academic) Dr Dirk Pons 06.03.17 - 05.03.20
Dean (International) Associate Professor David Wareham 01.11.15 - 31.01.20
Associate Dean (Postgraduate) Professor Philippa Martin 03.07.17 – 31.12.17
Law Professor Ursula Cheer 01.01.16 - 31.12.18
Arts Dean (International) Professor Beth Hume 01.01.17 - 31.12.19
Dean (Research) Associate Professor Peter Field 01.01.17 - 31.12.19
Dean (Academic) Dr Alison Griffith-Collins 01.01.17 - 31.12.19
Associate Dean (Academic) Alison Holcroft  
Science Associate Professor Janet Carter 18.10.16 - 18.10.17
Postgraduate Research Professor Jon Harding 04.01.16 - 04.01.19
  (Associate Dean) Professor Katie Pickles     01.07.16 – 30.06.19
Associate Dean of Postgraduate Research (Scholarships) Professor Bryce Williamson
College of Science Deirdre Hart  
School of Law Matthew Barber  
Teacher Education Te Hurinui Karaka-Clarke