Erskine Grants - Erskine Programme - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Erskine Grants


Academic staff members in the following Schools/Departments are eligible to apply for Erskine Grants:

  • Accounting and Information Systems
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemical and Process Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil and Natural Resources Engineering
  • Communication Disorders
  • Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Economics and Finance
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Forestry
  • Gateway Antarctica
  • Geography
  • Geological Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Linguistics Programme, (School of Language, Social and Political Sciences)
  • Management, Marketing and Entrepenuership
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Philosophy Programme, (School of Humanities and Creative Arts)
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Product Design
  • Psychology
Application Forms are available to Staff only on the intranet.


  • Complete an application form;
  • Head of School/Department signs the application form;
  • College Pro-Vice Chancellor signs the application form;
  • Form is sent to the Erskine Programme Manager for checking then signing by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation).
  • the application will be processed within two working days by the Erskine Programme Office
Erskine Grant information for staff (pdf 150kb)

The Erskine Bequest funds some 25 Erskine Grants each year which enable University of Canterbury academic staff members, in participating Faculties, to take leave out of New Zealand to increase their knowledge in such subjects so as to better enable them to teach those subjects to students.

The Bequest has funded these Programmes since 1963.

Erskine Programme Home

Grants Honour Rolls