Mechanical Engineering contacts

Mechanical Engineering

Level 5 Civil/Mechanical Building
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140
New Zealand
Phone: +64 3 3692229

Goods deliver address:
UC Warehouse
20 Kirkwood Avenue
Ilam, Christchurch 8041


Directors of studies

Contact the Director of Studies for your year for information, advice and support.

Academic staff

Follow the links to explore our research interests, collaborations and outputs.

Shayne Gooch

Associate Professor
Head of Department / Alumni Chapter Convenor
Civil Mechanical E518
Internal Phone: 92392

Mathieu Sellier

Associate Professor
Deputy Head of Department / International Director of Studies
Civil Mechanical E508
Internal Phone: 92383

Keith Alexander

Civil Mechanical E523
Internal Phone: 92213

Sid Becker

Senior Lecturer
Co-Director of Postgraduate Studies (PhD/ME)
Civil Mechanical E506
Internal Phone: 92155

Catherine Bishop

Senior Lecturer
Civil Mechanical E514
Internal Phone: 92137

Geoffrey Chase

Distinguished Professor
Advisor to Students with Disabilities
Civil Mechanical E502
Internal Phone: 92182

XiaoQi Chen

Director of Studies - Mechatronics 3rd Pro Year
Civil Mechanical E503
Internal Phone: 92190

Don Clucas

Senior Lecturer
Co-Director of Postgraduate Studies (MEngSt) Practical Work Supervisor
Civil Mechanical E521
Internal Phone: 92212

Tim David

Civil Mechanical Rm E540
Internal Phone: 92094

Paul Docherty

Senior Lecturer
Director of Studies 1st Professional Year
Civil Mechanical E510
Internal Phone: 92230

Mark Garnich

Associate Professor
Director of Studies 2nd Professional Year
Civil Mechanical Rm E529
Internal Phone: 94635

Stefanie Gutschmidt

Senior Lecturer
Linear and nonlinear dynamics and vibrations
Civil Mechanical E507
Internal Phone: 92206

Mark Jermy

Director of Final Year Research & Development Projects
Civil Mechanical E525
Internal Phone: 92276

Milo Kral

Mechanical Engineering E501
Internal Phone: 92102

Susan Krumdieck

Mechanical Engineering
Civil Mechanical E509
Internal Phone: 92210

John Pearse

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Director of Studies
Civil Mechanical E505
Internal Phone: 92423

Dirk Pons

College of Engineering Dean (Academic)
John Britten Rm 113
Internal Phone: 95826

Chris Pretty

Senior Lecturer
Co-Director of Mechatronics Director of Studies - Mechatronics 1st Pro Year
Civil Mechanical E513
Internal Phone: 92393

Geoffrey Rodgers

Associate Professor
Civil Mechanical E511
Internal Phone: 92270

Mark Staiger

Associate Professor
Director of Studies 3rd Professional Year
Civil Mechanical E512
Internal Phone: 92181

Digby Symons

Associate Professor
Civil & Mechanical Engineering E537
Internal Phone: 92171

Malcolm Taylor

Senior Lecturer
Civil & Mechanical Engineering E531
Internal Phone: 92139

Dan Zhao

Associate Professor
Internal Phone: 92642

Linda Forbes

Administrative Services Manager
Civil Mechanical E522
Internal Phone: 92105

Annie Homewood

Departmental Administrator (Postgraduate/Undergraduate)
Civil Mechanical E524
Internal Phone: 92106

Hollie Bradley

Administrative Assistant
Civil Mechanical E524
Internal Phone: 92107

Technical and General staff

Bruce Robertson

Technical Services Manager
Design Engineer
24 Kirkwood Ave
Internal Phone: 92384

Scott Amies

Senior Technical Officer
Workshop and CNC Laboratory Manager
Mechanical Engineering 128
Internal Phone: 92413

Kenneth Brown

Technical Officer
Internal Phone: 92135

Garry Cotton

Workshop Training Team Leader (UC workshops)
Internal Phone: 92134

Eric Cox

Technical Officer
Department Safety Officer
Internal Phone: 92133

Rodney Elliott

Technical Officer
Scientific Officer
Internal Phone: 92131

Mike Flaws

Senior Technical Officer
Technical Officer in Electron Microscope Laboratory
Mechanical Engineering E101
Internal Phone: 92203

Natalia Kabaliuk

Projects Engineer (Thermodynamics and Fluid Dynamics)
Internal Phone: 92970

Gerry Kirk

Technical Officer
ICT Building Rm 404
Internal Phone: 92121

Adam Latham

Systems Administrator
Technical Officer
Mechanical Engineering C210
Internal Phone: 92394

Julian Murphy

Technical Officer
Internal Phone: 92158

Julian Phillips

Technical Officer
Kirkwood Village KG04
Internal Phone: 92130

David Read

Technical Officer
Internal Phone: 92132

Paul Southward

Programmer Analyst
Systems Analyst / Programmer
Civil /Mechanical Rm E205
Internal Phone: 92209

Kevin Stobbs

Technical Officer
Internal Phone: 92136

Paul Zwaan

Industry Projects Coordinator
Civil Mechanical E531
Internal Phone: 92412

Post Doctoral and Research Associates

Jennifer Dickson

Post Doctoral Fellow
Civil Mechanical Rm E517
Internal Phone: 92411

Dr Aleksandra Gardecka

Post Doctoral Fellow
Room: Mechanical E308

Cong Zhou

Post Doctoral Fellow
Internal Phone: 92410

Bartosz Nowak

Post Doctoral Fellow
Internal Phone: 92723

Associate Members

Balazs Benyo

Adjunct Professor

Thomas Desaive

Adjunct Professor

Peter Hagedorn

Adjunct Professor

Professor Geoffrey Shaw

Adjunct Professor
Intensive Care Specialist Dept of Intensive Care, Christchurch Hospital

Tim Woodfield

Adjunct Associate Professor
Civil Mechanical E531

Visiting academics

The following academics are visiting our department in 2017. See full details of their visit dates, and our past and upcoming visitors.